Does it worth to have a Linux certification?

I would say so … Anyhow Linux is so spread in our everyday programmers/engineerings’ life that is really difficult to find someone having no idea about it (in fact I would say is a shame as an engineer NOT to get a grip on Linux). But, is it required, or do you think is needed, to have a Linux certification?

As far as I knew since long time ago there was the “notorious” Red Hat certification-  RHCE which once was a de facto requirement for a senior system admin aspiring to get into one of the top IT companies. LPIC (Linux professional institute certification) is a much younger certification, its governing entity, Linux Professional Institute, being established in 1999. Despite RHCE, LPIC is not tied to any Linux distribution or Linux vendor, and as the name suggest is provided by a non-commercial organization.

Advantages and disadvantages on choosing one or the other can be many, also we can argue indefinetly on this matter. This article draws the line and clearly emphasizes the advantages that LPIC has over RHCE: as we already have seen, NOT depending on any distribution, being much cheaper than RHCE, in fact I would say RHCE is astonishingly expensive, paying around $800 for it… that’s a fair big amount of money only for a cert!

Well I would not mess too much in discussions like “is it really needed to have a Linux certification, since nowadays the rankings are dominated by mature certifications issued by top IT companies, like Cisco, Oracle (once SunMicrosystems), Microsoft” or “is it RHCE better than LPIC?”

I will draw the line and say answer positively at the question in the title, probably because me neither, I do not have any certification :), and go for LPIC. More than this I will try to use this blog as a learning source for preparing the LPIC exam, I will try to post my impressions about how to pursue this exam and how to tackle it in general. .. Obviously because me also I intend to take it 🙂

One Response to Does it worth to have a Linux certification?

  1. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

Leave a Reply

